Best Tennis Racquet for Tennis Elbow

Prince EXO3 Tour 100

Tennis is a wonderful athletic game with plenty of challenges for both your mind and body. Unfortunately one physical challenge that many of us suffer from in tennis is lateral epicondylitis also know as “tennis elbow.” WebMD defines the condition as “a common term for a condition caused by overuse of arm, forearm, and hand muscles that results in elbow pain. You don’t have to play tennis to get this, but the term came into use because it can be a significant problem for some tennis players.”

As someone who has suffered from tennis elbow, I have learned quite a bit about this strain on tendons and how to keep it at bay so I can continue to play hours of tennis. While I cannot offer medical advice, I have learned a few tips that have helped me. I’ve made a checklist of dos and don’ts that I’ve applied to my game which is also the criteria for Best Racquet for Tennis Elbow. This list has no price range as money is not an object in protecting the health of your arm to prevent long term damage.

1. The racquet must be flexible with a stiffness rating of less than 65 and is heavy enough to play with for three sets.

2. The racquets must elbow-safe technology.

3. Avoid polyester strings, which are the harshest strings on your arm.

4. Play tennis with proper strokes, easy flowing, and let the weight of the racket do the work rather than muscling your arm through swings.

If you need more information on my research through my Tennis Elbow phase, leave a comment below

About lovesetmatch

www.lovesetmatch.net

3 thoughts on “Best Tennis Racquet for Tennis Elbow

  1. Good afternoon

    I am mailing from South Africa and is looking for some advice, please. I previously played with the Head Instinct S (75 flex) racquet with Head FXP Tour strings. No arm issues, but broke the strings now and then with excessive spin and turned to polys ito durability. 3 months later I suffered from severe TE. Then bought the Head Instinct XT MP as per recommendation from the local stringer (ito being arm friendly), strung with Head Lynx at 54lbs. 2 months later I again start feeling pain in my right elbow. I am 40 and realize I might not have sound mechanics after not playing for 20 years, but I need to know if I perhaps purchased the wrong racquet? A 5.0 tennis instructor recently adviced I play and purchase the Prince 100 16×18 racquet for its low flex and arm friendliness. Did I buy the wrong racquet in the form of the XT MP?

    Thank you so very much!!

    • Thanks for your comment. I find the biggest factors in Tennis elbow are type of strings and flex of racquet. Thankfully playing with the prince EXO3 Tour (flex 52) and a full bed of KLIP natural gut. I have healed my tennis elbow and now am just vigilant about making sure it doesn’t return. I suggest looking at the new Donnay racquets as well which i recently reviewed and have a flex of 60 but feel and play solid. You must leave poly. you must leave poly. You must give up poly. Sorry there is no other way. Use natural gut or a multi filament string. Poly is the arm killer.

Leave a comment